IRS Golf League

2018 Captain’s Meeting

Minutes of Meeting

March 14, 2018

6 p.m.



                Tom Schumacher - President & Team Captain

                Charles Halpin – Secretary & Team Captain

                Chuck Reckers – Treasurer

Jim Bramlage – Team Captain

Ray Vaughn - Team Captain

Mike Breen – Filling in for Team Captain Pat Breen

                Brian Anderson – Team Captain

                Mike Sullivan – Filling in for Team Captain Pat Harms

John Freeman – Team Captain

Jake Jobe-Rivera – Filling in for Team Captain Frank Leirey

                Jim Grassinger – Filling in for Team Captain Dick Flynn

                Don Buescher – Team Captain

Erich Kientz – Team Captain

                Ed Kiffmeyer – Team Captain

Dale Schaber – Filling in for Team Captain Gene Pfeiffer

                Bill Zachritz – Filling in for Team Captain Charlie Patmann

Absent:  Team Slye


Meeting started off with League President missing along with the drinks.  Finally showed up at 6:30.


Number of Teams and Verification of the numbering of the Teams:

Charlie Halpin opened the meeting with the team numbering for this year.  Okay as listed.

                A Division is:  Team #1 Bramlage, Team #5 Anderson, Team #9 Leirey, Team #13 Kientz

                B Division is:  Team #2 Vaughn, Team #6 Harms, Team #10 Slye, Team #14 Kiffmeyer

                C Division is:  Team #3 Halpin, Team #7 Schumacher, Team #11 Flynn, Team #15 Pfeiffer

                D Division is:  Team #4 Breen, Team #8 Freeman, Team #12 Buescher, Team #16 Patmann


Team changes: 

Team Vaughn added Steve Ruehl as a restricted sub. 

Team Kientz moved Erich Kientz back to a regular and moved Mike Schwarberg back to the Sub list.

No other team roster changes.


2017 Minutes and Financial Statements:

2017 minutes were presented by Charles Halpin.

2017 Financial Statement was presented by Chuck Reckers: 

Balance sheet was reviewed and the Leagues current funds in account had a slight decrease from the previous year and are sufficient to cover 1st week. 


2018 Season Schedule:

The tentative 2017 schedule was presented by Charles Halpin.  Due to July 4th Holiday on a Wednesday the start date moved up one week.  Start date will be April 18th.


Dues for Regulars:

Chuck presented a budget for the 2018 season and a discussion followed on the dues for regulars. Chuck proposed to have the Year End Outing as one charge for all instead of $10 being added onto the dues.  This would lower the dues by $10 for the regulars.  It was motioned, seconded, and unanimously voted to lower the dues by $10 and make the Outing cost as one fee for regulars, subs, and guest. 

Chuck proposed that the funds are sufficient to lower the dues this year to $30.  It was motioned, seconded and unanimously voted to lower the dues to $30.

Green fees went up $.50 this year to $17.  The semi-finals and scramble week remains a paid week (total of 19 weeks).  Cost per player will be $353 for the entire year (if not paying for the entire year then Chuck needs 1st week payment of $200 and 2nd payment by June 27th of $153).   


End-of-Year Outing (September 7th – already reserved at AJ Jolly)


Jim Bramlage proposed that the award plaques/trophies for Division and Wild Card winners changed to a certificate and League Champs receive a plaque.  It was motioned, seconded, and unanimously voted (12-2-1) to discontinue plaques/trophies for the Division and Wild Card winners.


Ray Vaughn proposed that we should allow any player play from either the forward or back tee box and remove the restriction on who can move to the forward tee box.  After some discussion it was motioned, seconded, and unanimously voted (9 – 6 – 1) to allow any player to declare before the 1st week which tee box they will play from and remove the restriction in the league rules.



Rules - Tom Schumacher, Charles Halpin, and Chuck Reckers.

Year End Scramble – Tom Schumacher

Outing Food & Beverage – Brian Anderson & Team

Outing Program – Brian Anderson & Team

Outing Events – Brian Anderson

Herm Lorenz Award - Tom Schumacher, Charles Halpin, Chuck Reckers, Frank Leirey (last winner).

Jerry Joesting Award - Tom Schumacher, Charles Halpin, Chuck Reckers.



Meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.




Respectfully Submitted,


Charles Halpin

League Secretary